With portal pages, you can gather all required information together flexibly in portlets. Portlets can be added to portal pages, which you can define in the portal menu structure, and to view pages that contain a portlet container. In both cases, the term "portal page" will be used in the following. Portlet content can come from applications or from information provided by basic portlets. The number and type of portlets can be customized by the user provided they have the corresponding permission. Portlets are responsive, they adjust to the size of the display. On portal pages, you will find a button with an arrow symbol on the right-hand side. Click on this button to open the portlet and grid settings. This page has a corresponding arrow symbol on the left-hand side to close the settings.
You will find the settings at the top:
Each user can create and delete portlets provided they have the corresponding permission. They can also modify the arrangement via drag & drop if this is allowed in the container settings in the default mode.
In default mode, the portal pages of all users - including anonymous users - can be managed by members of the Administrators user group.
You can search for existing portlets here. Search results are shown beneath the search field and can be moved to a container via drag & drop.
This area contains a list of portlets that you have defined in applications and predefined portlets from the system applications. Click here for more information about creating portlets from applications.
The Basic portlets area contains two sub-areas:
Users may (User permissions)
Create new portlet
User permission settings
These settings are only available in default mode and apply to all users.
- Edit portal
Displays the area "Add a portlet" in the Basic portlets area in the personal mode. It also adds the Edit button that allows users to edit the properties of a portlet that has been positioned in a container.
- Create portlet
Displays the "Create new portlet" area in the Basic portlets area where new portlet instances can be created.
- Delete portlet
Displays the Delete button
in the Basic portlets area that allows users to delete portlet instances. The button is also displayed next to portlets that have already been assigned to a container. If a portlet is removed from a container, it will be moved back to its original area ("Basic portlets" or "Portlets from applications") and can be moved back into a container if required.
All basic portlets are available under "Create new portlet". There is already one instance of each template type in the "Add portlet" area. You can add this instance to a container via drag & drop and configure it accordingly. If you want to, for example, create two tickers for news from different press portals, configure the ticker in the "Add portlet" area and then create a second instance with the ticker from the "Create new portlet" area by dragging the portlet into a container. Click here here for a description of each portlet template and the respective settings.
Delete portlet permanently
Provided the user has the corresponding permission, this button is shown in the "Add portlet" area. Click on this button to remove the portlet from the list.
Click on this button to reset the portal pages of all users back to the current settings in the default mode. All custom changes in the personal or anonymous mode will be deleted in the process.
You can arrange and configure the selected portlets here. As soon as a portlet is moved into a container and the new settings have been saved, it is available to users with the corresponding permissions in the browser. A container can contain any number of portlets. The number and arrangement of the individual containers can be modified on the Grid page. The following buttons are shown next to each portlet:
Activate / Deactivate mandatory portlet
A mandatory portlet cannot be removed from the portal page by the users.
Activate / Deactivate drag & drop
If drag & drop has been deactivated, the portlet cannot be moved by the users.
Opens a page where the portlet properties can be edited.
Remove portlet from grid
The portlet is removed from the container. You can then find it again in the corresponding area - depending on whether it was a portlet template or an application portlet - and can move it back to a container if required.
Shows the portlet description.
Click on "Save" to save any changes made to the portlet settings. "Cancel" closes the settings page.
If a user moves a portlet to another position via drag & drop in the browser, the edit mode is activated.
In this mode, the configured Grid is shown with dashed lines. Once all portlets are where you want them to be, save your settings by clicking on "OK". This will then end the edit mode.